The sky over… Warsaw

In 19th century a Polish poet, Stanisław Jachowicz said “Cudze chwalicie, swego nie znacie, sami nie wiecie, co posiadacie” which you could translate literally as “You glorify what’s foreign, you don’t know what’s yours, you yourselves don’t know what you have” or simply as “the grass is greener on the other side”. Well I lived in Warsaw for two years and although I always considered the city to be great, I always “had time”. “Yeah I will go there tomorrow” I’d think. The other options were “next week”, “next Sunday”, “some other day”. I definitely missed a lot. Now that I don’t live there anymore I cherish every moment in Warsaw, visiting places, galleries, museums, workshops, trying  to walk through the city as much as I can rather than use the public transport. I spent my last weekend and Warsaw and came back with quite some photos. Today I’m in Porto, the sky over the city is gray because of the fires nearby. So here it is, the sky over Warsaw (any similarity to Wim Wenders’ movie title is not coincidential).

Note the brick on the wall? I guess this is a very nice example of Polish streetart. The Polish artist NeSpoon places her delicate, ceramic tiles in different places. I was lucky to catch this one – you can find it on the wall in front of the Royal Castle. The hand reaches our from the fasade of the Theatre Academy of Warsaw; and the windows are actually the windows of the Supreme Court.

Comments
3 Responses to “The sky over… Warsaw”

Leave a Reply

