Long way home. Lagoa do Fogo

I’m writing these words in the airplane heading to Prague, Czech Republic. By the time you’ll be reading them, I’ll be in my hometown already, in southwest Poland. Or maybe in Warsaw, studying for the exams. Or somewhere else in Poland, Europe or world, if you happen to be reading them weeks, months or years later.

Nine months abroad have had a great impact on me. I’ve learnt a lot, travelled to dozens of places and met hundreds of people. I’ve made amazing friends, lost and broken a lot of things and eaten way too much. I’ve laughed and I’ve cried.  I’ve been both happy and really, really unhappy but one thing’s for sure – I am an extremely lucky person to have had all of that.

I shed a couple of tears when I saw my empty room and all the things packed. I am not upset though. Although I’ve lived in three different flats during that time, it was Lisbon that has been my home for nine months. I know that my life is changing and it can only be for good – and I am looking forward to what’s going to come.

What am I going to do in the nearest months? I’ll spend some time in my hometown and travel through Poland. I’ll write the exams and I’ll be back to Portugal to write my thesis. By the end of September I should already receive my title of Bachelor of Arts.

And then? Some of you already know more, but for the rest of you I’ll keep it a secret. I don’t really like talking about things that I’m not sure about, but I can promise you that if you keep visiting me here you will surely find out on your own. What I can tell you is that I’ll keep travelling, taking photos and most likely move to another country again.

It all won’t be easy but this is exactly what I want. So I’m sure it will be worth it.

DSC_0478

Comments
One Response to “Long way home. Lagoa do Fogo”
  1. Zuzia says:

    To ten post jest też dla mnie, bo jestem jedną z czekających:)
    Ej, i nawet ja się wzruszam jak czytam ten wpis, a wiem (mniej więcej) co przeżyłas w Portugalii!

Leave a Reply

