A sneak peek at my great hitchhiking adventure. São Miguel, Azores

I’d like to start with a warning. This post will include a lot of photos of a horrible quality. Sorry!

Some time ago I got myself tickets to Ponta Delgada, the capital of Azores’ biggest island, São Miguel. Acording to this site the distance between Lisbon and Ponta Delgada equals 1446,68 km. Not bad.

Here’s what I find quite important for you to know – I went there alone. With a small backpack only. I found a tourist information point on the airport and here’s how my visit there looked like:

-Hi, I just arrived. Could I ask you for a map or something?
-So you don’t have a map?
-No but I’d like to have one.
-Do you have a guide?
-No. Could you give me one too?
-Do you know how to get to the city?
-No, maybe you could tell me if there’s a shuttle bus or something? Also, I would like to spend a night or two in a youth hostel but I haven’t found one yet. Could you give me some information about some?

As you can see, I couldn’t be less prepared.

As you already know, I am a couchsurfing fan. Unfortunately I only found a host for 3 out of 7 nights there, so I had to come up with another idea, and hostel seemed to be the most reasonable.

Don’t get me wrong – my idea WAS to be partly unprepared. Usually I’m the kind of person who likes having everything planned, this time though I decided I won’t plan much. I didn’t want to have any kind of high expectations, because I didn’t want to be disappointed. Just like that.

And now getting back to the title – yes, I hitchiked there. But I will describe you all my thoughts on hitchiking in another post. Right now I’d only like to show you what I’ve been up to during my week on São Miguel.

Which includes some:

DSC_0106.NEF
– singing and dancing to Eddie Vedder’s “Into the Wild” soundtrack in the middle of the road because I COULD do that and there was nobody who’d think that was strange. Because there was nobody at all.
DSC_0602
– doing some yoga on the beach, because another couchsurfer at my hosts’ place happened to be a yoga teacher. I know you cannot see the beach on the picture. Sorry about that, but you have to believe me.
– singing “Ai se eu te pego” and Handel’s “Hallelujah” in front of an audience consisting of a cow and a horse. Please don’t blame me for the choice of songs.
20121208_154724
– crying because I didn’t give up and got there altough my leg was killing me and I ran out of water and then after walking and walking it turned out to be so beautiful. That moment I felt really proud of myself. And really happy.20121209_120615

20121210_142019
– getting really excited about the panoramic picture function that my phone provides
– crying again because I had no idea where I was
DSC_04402

DSC_04522

DSC_04972
– running from one place to another shooting self portraits and trying to look casually
20121211_104415(0)
– travelling on a back of a pickup truck with a dog. The dog was perfectly calm. I was laughing and producing a lot of strange sounds.
– eating some awesome cheese made by my host’s mother-in-law. One of the best things I’ve ever eaten.
– playing Jenga
– and more.

When my mom asked me what I would like to get for Christmas I told her: cash. And I’ll get myself another ticket.

Any suggestions?

Comments
2 Responses to “A sneak peek at my great hitchhiking adventure. São Miguel, Azores”
  1. Zuzia says:

    Co jest z Twoją nogą? Idziesz z tym na jakieś badania? Ja tez musze, dlatego solidaryzuję się w bólu.
    A co do planowanej nastepnej wycieczki: nie mam propozycji, ale na pewno chce zobaczyc zdjecia:)
    Czytajac tego posta, czuje sie troche jakbym ogladala nastepny odcinek Planetki:)

    • Mishatsky says:

      Moja noga już nie boli, chyba że bardzo ją nadwyrężę. A tak się działo na Azorach, bo chodziłam całymi dniami i moje stopy całe pokryte są jakby “piętą”;) Do Planetki brakuje już tylko Rizzo…;)

Leave a Reply

