The Ribeira market. Lisbon

Right after I published the post about professions, which included two photos from Lisbon’s flea market, I thought “why not go to a regular market, with fish, vegetables, flowers, and take a couple of pictures there?” So I just chose two of them and decided that as soon as I wake up, I’m going to take my camera and go there.

Well, I won’t lie to you. I made a typical mistake thinking, that anything in Portugal will be like in Spain, Italy, or other mediterranean country.

First of all, Portugal is not a mediterranean country, altough a lot of people think it is, perhaps because of Portugal’s only neighbour – Spain.

Second of all, going to a market in Lisbon, and expecting it will look like the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul is ridiculous. I have to admit, that this is the mistake I’ve made. I guess you shouldn’t expect too much when you go somewhere, because it can only bring disappointment.

And I also was disappointed. I went to the first market – Rato, which was just… deserted. I guess I came there too late. I felt like an intruder, when I walked through what I supposed would be a giant market, feeling the sights of the last salesmen remaining there on me.

When I finally entered the second market, Ribeira, which is the most famous one in Lisbon, I wasn’t really excited either. It was not what I wanted it to be. I passed the main hall thinking that I’ll just take a couple of pictures of the architecture, but as soon as I entered the side corridor, one of the butchers asked me to take a photo of him and his friend. Well, why not, I laughed.

Just look what I have inside my shop, he said and asked me, you’re from Brasil, aren’t you?

Well, I am not. Surprise!

I owe this man (and his cow’s head) one thing – I started to notice those little things worth being photographed again. He changed my attitude totally. I entered the Ribeira market devastated. I was thinking that it was going to be the biggest disappointment ever.

Frankly, I hope all of my future disappointments will end up this way.

Leave a Reply

